The visit makes it possible to walk through this monumental neoclassical building of Porto, identifying in the toponymy of the spaces the customs functions of old, entering the old treasury or exploring the centenarian cranes of its fluvial pier and railway branch. A true treasure trove of iron and glass architecture. Schedule: Tuesday to Friday from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. or 2.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
The Boavista Roundabout, also known as Mouzinho de Albuquerque Square (it honors a Portuguese soldier who fought in Africa during the 19th century). In commemoration of the Portuguese victory against the French troops who invaded Portugal during the Peninsular War (1807-1814), a 45m column was built slowly between 1909 and 1951. This is a project of the Portuguese architect José Marques da Silva and the sculptor Alves de Sousa. The column symbolizes is the Portuguese victory, through the lion that is knocking down the French imperial eagle.
National Monument, located in the historical center of the city of Oporto, classified as a World Heritage by UNESCO, the Palace of the Stock erected by the Commercial Association of Porto on the ruins of the Convent of S. Francisco became par excellence the living room of Oporto, receiving the most illustrious visitors, including monarchs, Presidents of the Republic and ministers of almost all countries, transforming this building into the most visited monument of the North of the Country. Information: Admission for children up to 12 years old is free of charge provided they are properly accompanied by parents. The tour is guided, with a duration of approximately 45 minutes. The visit is bilingual and the language will be marked according to the order of arrival. Languages: Portuguese, Spanish, French, English Schedule: Low season: Every day from Mon to Sun, from 09h00 to 12h30 and from 02h00 to 17h30. (Nov. to Mar.) (visits every half hour)
The Church of the Carmelites or Church of the Discalced Carmelites is located in the parish of Vitoria, in the city of Porto, Portugal.
It began to be built in 1616 and was completed in 1628. The decoration of the interior was only to be finished in 1650.
The church belonged to the now-defunct convent, now occupied by the Republican National Guard.
It was classified as a National Monument on May 3, 2013, together with the adjacent Carmo Church.
The Carmo church with a baroque / rococo style, it was built in the second half of the 18th century, between 1756 and 1768, by the Order Terceira do Carmo, the project of the architect José Figueiredo Seixas. Construction of the hospital began later, being completed in 1801.
This church is twinned with the Carmelite Church on the west side, constituting a unique volume, although the two churches differ.
The Porto Cathedral is a Roman Catholic church located in the historical centre of the city of Porto, Portugal. It is one of the city's oldest monuments and one of the most important local Romanesque monuments.
The Porto City Park, designed by the landscape architect Sidónio Pardal, is the largest urban park in the country, occupying a total of 83 hectares and about 10 km of paths. The park is a sophisticated architectural landscape, with lakes, varied flora and fauna, integrated in the fabric of the city. The modeling of the terrain, the stone elements and the grove create particularly pleasant interiors where the visitor does not perceive that it is in a densely populated area.
Visit to the Clérigos Museum, its history and the famous architect Nicolau Nasoni, and can admire several collections of religious art, with pieces dating from the thirteenth to the twentieth century, painting, furniture, sculpture, goldsmithery and paramentaria. The visitor is also presented with the view that will enjoy the Tower, from Oporto to Foz, more than 75 meters high. You can opt for free visits or guided visits to Heritage, by registering.
The Crystal Palace, demolished in 1951
The Cristal Palace (1865 - 1951) was a building that existed in the old field of the Brand Tower, in the parish of Massarelos, in the city of Porto, Portugal. Opened in 1865, the original Crystal Palace was eventually demolished in 1951 to give way to the Pavilhão dos Deportes, now Pavilhão Rosa Mota.
The Crystal Palace, by the English architect Thomas Dillen Jones, was built in granite, iron and glass, with the London Crystal Palace by model. It measured 150 meters in length by 72 meters in width and was divided into three naves.
Ponte Luís I or Luiz I, is a bridge in metallic structure with two boards, built between 1881 and 1888, linking the cities of Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia (north and south, respectively) separated by the river Douro, in Portugal. This construction replaced the old suspension bridge that existed in the same place and was realized by the project of the Belgian engineer Théophile Seyrig, who had previously collaborated with Gustave Eiffel in the construction of the D. Maria Pia Bridge, railway. The bridge was inaugurated in 1886 (upper board) and 1888 (lower board and entrance in full operation).
Luis I Bridge - The construction began in 1881 and the inauguration took place 31 October 1886, and was projected by the responsibility of Teófilo Seyrig, a partner of Gustave Eiffel.
Maria Pia Bridge - designed by Engineer Théophile Seyrig and built in 1876 and 1877 by Eiffel Constructions METALLIQUES company, was the first railroad bridge to unite the two banks of the Douro River.
Bridge St. John - built in 1991 to replace the bridge Maria Pia
Arrábida bridge - had at the time of construction the largest arch in the world reinforced concrete.
Freixo Bridge - the bridge over the river upstream, in Oporto.
Infante Bridge - named in honor of the Porto Infante D. Henrique, it is the latest bridge.
Boat trip under the bridges on Douro river (50 min)
- Check out a UEFA Champions League trophy collection
- Enjoy an interactive and innovative journey through the 27 thematic areas of the FC Porto Museum
- Learn more about the award-winning Estádio do Dragão, home of FC Porto
- Explore the history of FC Porto and its relationship with the city .
- People over 65 pay only 12 euros.
Children between 5 and 12 years pay only 10 euros.
Children between 0 and 4 years old do not pay (send us an e-mail to inform).
Entrance tickets to the FC Porto Museum and the Estádio do Dragão
Foz do Douro is an inter-class zone, but is best known for being an area inhabited by the upper class of the city. Its maritime promenade, dotted with terraces, bars and gardens by the sea make this area one of the most sought after in Porto, due to its high refinement.
The Museum of the Hospital Center of Oporto (CHP) inaugurated its exhibition space in October 2013. Those who enjoy the CHP Museum perceive a global heritage, not just a hospital, being transported to the cultural heritage of the City of Porto. It has two extraordinary spaces: a remarkable Botica from nineteenth century, integrated in the frontier of the National Monument Hospital of Santo António, whose historical route has more than 200 years. From a rare set of pharmacy cabinets, pots for ointments and electuals, jars, mortars, scales and formula books, many are the objects that bring visitors to the therapeutic currents of the time. In the second space dedicated to the workshop pharmacy of the Joaquim Urbano Hospital it is possible to discover the historical path, the medical personalities, techniques and progress in the production of medicines registered in this important hospital specialized in infectious and pulmonary diseases. It also includes the possibility of viewing the
Panels in Portuguese and English;
Information translated in Portuguese, English and Spanish;
Brochure / leaflet in Portuguese and English;
Every month there is a featured piece, with text in Portuguese and English.
Guided tours give you the opportunity to know Casa da Música in its various aspects. For about an hour, a guide describes the building designed by the Dutchman Rem Koolhaas, explaining the architecture, the functionalities and the artistic programming.
In a diverse offer of visiting models, you can choose between regular visits (Portuguese / English), with a daily frequency, and those specifically designed for groups (in several languages), according to prior booking. All of them give you unexpected surprises and points of attraction, such as hot spots, interactive installations that allow you to make music.
We emphasize that the visit to the spaces is conditioned to the programming of Casa da Música. You can check the spaces available on the same day at the ticket office.
Visits to the Casa da Música spaces are confined to guided tours.
Free admission for children under 12 years old accompanied by an adult ticket (inform us by e-mail).
The birth place of Infante makes possible the discovery of vestiges of Roman, medieval and modern occupation. The visitor can get a cross look between history and contemporaneity through the interpretation of the past and the perception of the present, revisiting in this trip the main landmarks of the Portuguese Discoveries, from Ceuta to the Far East, with particular focus on the role of the city and the people of Porto in this venture. The temporary exhibition room at Infante's House privileges its own productions and co-productions of themes from Porto or artists from the city. Rua da Alfândega, 10. 4050-029 Porto Museum: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Closes Mondays and holidays. During the weekend the visit it's free.
The current building in which it is installed was inaugurated in 1906. It is distinguished by its beautiful Art Nouveau facade, with neogothic notes. In 2008, the English newspaper The Guardian considered it the third most beautiful in the world, the same rating given by Lonely Planet, in its guide Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011, being described as "a pearl of new art", highlighting the "neo-Gothic shelves" and the "red spiral staircase".
The Lions Fountain is located in Praça de Gomes Teixeira, in the city of Oporto, in front of the Rectory of the University of Porto, a building where, until 1995, the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Porto worked. It is one of the few sources of the city that were not built in Portugal, being at the same time the most beautiful of Porto. It was commissioned by the Companhia das Águas do Porto in 1882, and began operating four years later, thus supplying water to this part of the city.
The Majestic is a historic café, located on Rua de Santa Catarina, in Porto, Portugal. Its relevance derives both from the cultural ambience that surrounds it, namely the tradition of the café tertulia, where were several personalities of the cultural and artistic life of the city, as well as of its architecture of identity Arte Nova. In 2011, it was considered the sixth most beautiful coffee in the world.
Visit to the Majestic and offer of 1 Coffee and 1 Traditional cake
World of Discoveries is an interactive and themed museum about the odyssey of the portuguese navigators in serch of new world. Discover from an interactive and unique perspective, the adventure that changed the world. This is a place where culture meet each other, honoring the feet of globalization. World of Discoveries is that cultural add-on that will forever change your experience in the city.
Guide (any time but only for organized groups)
Guide for individual vistors (at the weekend)
Language (English French, Germany, Russian, Spanish)
Price discounts for childrens, senior, students, families.
Porto has always been a mercantile city, and this is evident in the style of the buildings lining the Avenida dos Aliados, the core of the downtown area. The center of town, unlike other major Portuguese cities, which tend towards the baroque, is granite and monumental. Residents of Porto are known as Tripeiros (tripe eaters) due to the fact that the city went without meat in order to provision the capital and the fleet that departed to Ceuta in 1415, had to subsist on tripe stew, still a speciality of the city.
We will take you to a selection of wines of exceptional quality, those who enter here begin a journey through the Port wine legacy.
We challenge you to discover Douro region and Port wine – from “terroir” to the wine grapes, from the categories up to the aromas, trough our recently interactive museum, with personalized and intuitive access.
In the guided visits we can know the Douro Demarcated Region, know how the Port is produced and stay abreast of all the details of the history of this House. The cellars themselves remain active and visitable. It is there that we learn more about the unique characteristics of each type of Port, even next to the barrels where they grow old, protected from light and heat. Visitors are then invited to a wine tasting: a white Port and a Tawny Port.
Unique possibility to know one of the most important collections of cars of the country that were at the service of its Presidents. Significant moments of the presidential institution are also known through photographs, texts and audiovisual media. Project in partnership with the Museum of the Presidency of the Republic.
Schedule: Tuesday to Friday 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 6pm. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
The Ribeira view of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Ribeira is one of the oldest and typical places of the city of Porto, Portugal. Located in the parish of São Nicolau, by the Douro River, it is part of the Historic Center of Porto, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is, at the moment, an area very frequented by tourists and place of concentration of bars and restaurants. In the Ribeira deserve to be emphasized Praça da Ribeira, popularly also known as square of the cube; Rua da Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest in the city; the Muro dos Bacalhoeiros and Casa do Infante, where it is believed that the Infante D. Henrique was born in 1394. It was in this part of Porto that one of the most charismatic figures of the city lived, the so-called Duque da Ribeira, known for having saved several dying people drowned.
The Porto - São Bento Railway Station was officially inaugurated on October 5, 1916. It is an interface of railways of the Minho Line, which serves the city of Porto. It is located in the Almeida Garrett Square, and the French-influenced station building was designed by the Portuguese architect José Marques da Silva. The station is located in the historical center of Porto, and has been declared as one of the main monuments in the city, being especially famous for its tile panels.
The Church of São Francisco is a gothic church in the city of Porto, located in the parish of São Nicolau in the historic center of Porto. Construction began in the 14th century as part of a Franciscan convent. It is notable for its set of 18th century baroque gilded carving. Adjacent to its front entrance is the Church of the Venerable Third Order of St. Francis.
The Serra do Pilar Monastery or Saint Augustine Monastery of the Serra do Pilar (16th-17th century) is located on an elevation overlooking the Douro River called Serra do Pilar, located in the parish of Santa Marinha, in a position bordering the city of Porto, municipality of Vila Nova de Gaia, in the district of Porto, in Portugal. The Monastery of Serra do Pilar belonged to the Order of St. Augustine. Its construction began in 1538 and continued through the following centuries, in several stages of construction that significantly altered the initial design. Today it is considered one of the most remarkable buildings of classical European architecture due to its outstanding architectural value and the unique character of its church and cloister, both circular and of the same size in plan.
Visiting Serralves is a journey back in time: this unique copy of Art Deco architecture dates back to the 30s of the 20th century. With great decorative rigor and quality of materials, the House had the intervention of significant names of the time as Marques da Silva, Charles Siclis, Jacques Émile Ruhlmann, René Lalique and Edgar Brandt.
Get to know in detail the history of the origin of the House that belonged to Count Carlos Alberto Cabral and the explanation of the architectural and decorative details that create the unique atmosphere of this place.
The STCP, SA - Porto Tram City Tour's historic electric car network is an unavoidable ex-libris of the city of Porto. With a history dating back to 1872, the year in which the first line of "American cars" of the city of Porto was inaugurated, STCP's electric car network currently consists of 3 distinct lines that run through the most emblematic areas of the city: Line 1, or Linha da Marginal, which runs between the historic center of Porto and Jardim do Passeio Alegre on a unique route along the banks of the River Douro; Line 18, or Line of the Restoration, that makes the route between Massarelos and the Carmo in a route that connects the historical zone of the parish of Massarelos to the Garden of the Cordoaria and its surroundings; Line 22, or Linha da Baixa, which runs through the most emblematic arteries of the city center of Porto on a circular route between Carmo and Batalha / Guindais.
The Santo Inácio Zoo is the largest and greenest zoological park in the north of the country and is situated just 10 minutes from the center of Porto, in Vila Nova de Gaia. With little more than a decade of existence and more than a million and a half of visitors, the Santo Inácio Zoo has already become the reference zoo in Greater Porto. During the summer it is open from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Children up to 2 years old (0-2 years old) do not pay
children from 3 to 12 years old pay 9,90 € *, and the seniors (over 65 years old) pay 12,90 € *